Despite being on the water for six hours, the Finns failed to complete any more races on the last final series day of the ISAF Sailing World Cup Mallorca. Only the medal race remains to be sailed on Saturday, scheduled for 12.30, local time.

Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO) told the story of the day. "It was tough day for race committee, with the wind fighting between the gradient from the NNW and sea breeze. We started one race with a gradient wind of 8 knots that slowly faded out and the race was abandoned. I was among top three all the time but I fully agree that conditions were not fair so hats off for RC cancelling the race."

"After that we had long wait and by late afternoon a race was about to get going but the RC decided to send the fleet ashore. It was a bit of a strange day in all and in my opinion it was better not to compromise a great sailing week with one unfair race."

Alliterations aside, it was a disappointing end to an otherwise very competitive week of racing in a variety of conditions. The nine races sailed as of Thursday decided who sails the medal race.

Giles Scott (GBR) and Thomas Le Breton (FRA) are guaranteed a medal each, as long as they compete, and the gold will go to one of them. Jonathan Lobert (FRA) in third is 20 points adrift of Scott, so can only improve to silver, while only Ivan Kljakovic Gaspic (CRO) and Tapio Nirkko (FIN) can deprive him of at least a bronze.

In the silver fleet, some encouraging performances over the last two days from Tomas Vika (CZE), Jake Lilley (AUS) and newcomer Ben Cornish (GBR) will go be some small comfort for missing out on the gold fleet cut. Vika ended up winning the silver fleet from Egor Terpigorev RUS) and five time Olympian Michael Maier (CZE).

The medal race, as all the races since Wednesday will be tracked live through the ISAF website in both 2D and 3D. You can find the tracking at:

Results after 9 races going into the medal race

1 GBR 41 Giles SCOTT 20
2 FRA 29 Thomas le BRETON 28
3 FRA 112 Jonathan LOBERT 40
5 FIN 218 Tapio NIRKKO 57
6 GBR 85 Andrew MILLS 60
7 EST 2 Deniss KARPAK 61
8 SLO 573 Vasilij ZBOGAR 62
9 POL 17 Piotr KULA 63
10 GBR 11 Edward WRIGHT 66

Full results:

Further photos from other days (free of rights for editorial use) available at:






© 2017, International Finn Association, Inc